Thumbprint cookies

So I have learned something about myself in the past month and a half…. I am terrible at blogging.  Absolutely terrible.  And it apparently takes millions of bacteria, a killer headache and a runny nose to realize this.

Yes, I am sick.  Very very sick.  I came home for Thanksgiving and instead of turkey, I got bronchitis.  YAY! My flight back to Vancouver was rescheduled, and I have been directed to stay in Calgary for the next week, until I am healthy again.

Now, what does one do when they are coughing up their lungs and have a voice of a dying Banshee? YOU BAKE!  I saw this recipe in Chateline while waiting at the doctor’s office, and I kind of *cough* ripped the page out of the magazine *cough*.  Anyways, I made it and it’s a fantastic recipe, and now I am sharing it with you so you no longer need to steal it from other doctors’ offices.

Thumbprint cookies

What you will need:

1 Cup unsalted butter, room temp

3/4 Cup icing sugar

2  1/4 Cup all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/3 cup jam (I used this delicious blueberry peach jam, but any jam would work)

  1. Preheat oven to 325F
  2. Cream together butter and sugar until smooth
  3. In a separate bowl, mix flour with salt, then gradually stir the flour mixture into the butter, stir just until its combined
  4. Pinch off about 1 Tbsp of dough and roll into 1 inch balls, place on a parchment paper lined baking sheet.  Repeat with remaining dough
  5. Use your fingers, press into each ball, make a deep indent into each ball
  6. Bake in the centre of preheated oven for about 15 min, leave on sheet fo another 5 minutes or so before moving it onto the cookie racks
  7. Just before serving, fill each cookie with 1/2 tsp of jam.  Enjoy!!

Jam filling

3 thoughts on “Thumbprint cookies

  1. Sucks about your bronchitis but the cookies look delicious. I like that idea of jam in the middle of cookies – sometimes cookies are a bit dry and I feel like the jam would add a bit of moistness to it.

    I also find it hilarious you ripped it out of the doctor’s magazine (ah well, it’s not like he has bronchitis right?)

    • The cookies were quite delicious! Thank you! And guess what I got for my bday? One year’s worth of Chatelaine subscription! HAHA!

Leave a Reply

