Raspberry/Blueberry Buttermilk Cake

Happy New Year folks!

My super awesome friend Jared was home for the holidays, and as per tradition, we cooked up a storm.  We made sugar cookies in the shape of hippos and dinos, perogies and this….. scrumptious raspberry buttermilk cake.

This cake is one of the easiest cakes I have ever made and yet it is absolutely delicious.  After making this cake with Jared, I came home and made two more the following day for my mom’s Christmas party.  I tried using blueberries instead of raspberries for one of the cakes and both versions turned out lovely!  Once again, I cannot emphasize enough on how easy these cakes are to make….I started making them after dinner and had them on the table within an hour, they were then inhaled by our guest within a minute or so….funny how that works eh?

Anyways, thank you Jared for sharing this fantastic recipe with me.  I miss you already and wish that you were here all year round.  But we can always have our baking sessions through skype, right?

A slice of the blueberry cake

The raspberry version

1 cup flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 butter, softened
2/3 cup sugar
1/2 tsp pure vanilla
1 large egg
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 cup raspberries or blueberries, rinsed and dried

  1. Preheat oven to 350F and evenly grease a 9-inch round cake pan
  2. Mis together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Set it aside.
  3. Cream butter and sugar using a stand or handheld mixer for 3-4 minutes.
  4. Mix in vanilla, then the egg.
  5. Add in the dry ingredients, alternating with buttermilk.  Mix only until everything is incorporated.  (example: Add dry ingredients, mix, add buttermilk, mix, add dry ingredients, mix….)
  6. Pour batter into cake pan, and evenly top the batter with raspberries or blueberries. Gently push the berries into the batter so that once the cake is baked, the berries are within the cake.
  7. Bake in middle oven rack for approximately 25 minutes, or when toothpick comes out clean.  Pay close attention to your cake though, because the cakes I made at home were done within 20 minutes.
  8. After removal from the oven, you can top your freshly baked cake with some sugar and place it back in it over on low broil for 3-5 min.  Make sure you watch your cake here!
  9. Serve the cake warm or at room temp.

* If you like a bit of sourness in your cake, I would suggest using raspberries.  However, if you are not a big fan of sour, then use blueberries instead.

6 thoughts on “Raspberry/Blueberry Buttermilk Cake

    • I think that is a fantastic idea! People can come get their eyes checked while munching on a slice raspberry buttermilk cake….hehehe!

  1. Wow, you should really open up a bakery! That way you could do all the things you love and get a ton of money for it because I’m pretty sure everyone would be crazy for these baked goods.

    • HAHA! Thanks Warren! I would love to open up a bakery. I have contemplated that idea many times… Maybe I will in a few year =) My baking skills still need to exponentially improve if I open a bakery.

Leave a Reply

