Pork and Chive Wontons 云吞

It’s the beginning of a new year and one of my goals this year is to make more Asian inspired dishes….since I am sort of Asian and all.

One of the things my mom always makes at home are wontons (云吞).   It has always been one of my favorite things to eat.  I could eat it for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and then again for midnight snack.  I ate these so often that my mom refused to make them for me anymore, because just the thought of cooking wonton made her want to vomit…. No joke.

Anyways,  since mom boycotted my wonton supply.  I must now find a way to make it myself!  I neeeeeeeed my wontons.   It’s an addiction, I admit it.

Without asking mom for the recipe. I ventured out and bought myself some fancy-dancy wonton wrappers, chives, 2 lbs lean ground pork, and began my wonton making extravaganza.  It was quite a success, if I do say so myself.  A few minor tweaks here and there, but no major mistakes (thank goodness!  I was really nervous going into it).

Here is what you will need

1 lb lean ground pork
2.5-3 cups chopped chives (depends on your taste)
2 large eggs
3-4 TBsp oyster sauce
2 tsp sesame oil
1 pack of wonton wrappers

filling:

  1. Mix all above ingredients (except wonton wrapper), set aside.
  2. You can test for the taste by frying a little bit of the filling.  If the filling feels tasteless, add more oyster sauce.  If the filling is too salty, you can add more pork and chives.

Wonton  making:

  1. Please refer to the photos below for step to step instructions

Wonton cooking:

  1. Boil a large pot of water with salt (or stock if you have any).  Once the liquid comes to a steady boil, gently place wontons in, and turn the heat down to medium.    Allow the wontons to boil uncovered to 12-15 minutes, stirring occasionally to  prevent sticking.
  2. Cooked wontons should float to the top, and look a bit swollen
  3. Serve HOT!

Here are some step to step photos. I think these pictures will provide more information than my words ever will.

***A special thank-you to my wonderful and ultra sexy hand model/assistant: Mr. K

1. Cutting chives into small pieces

2. Mixing chives, pork, egg, oyster sauce, sesame oil (ignore the garlic in the picture, I added it to the filling and it was not a good idea)

3. Dip one side of the wonton wrapper in water

5. Fold over 2 sides of the wrapper (wet side on top) to enclose the filling

6. Dip both ends of wrapper in water, sealing the ends

7. Fold the ends together, one on top of another

8. There you go! You can freeze them like this, or cook them right away

9. This is what they look like after they are cooked through.

4 thoughts on “Pork and Chive Wontons 云吞

  1. Pingback: Mini Italian Meatballs | Breakfast Monkey

Leave a Reply

