Maple Cookies

The Olympics have started in Vancouver!!  Go Canada Go!!  These cookies will definitely put you in the right spirit to cheer on our Olympic athletes 🙂

I am about to say something that might sound a little crazy…. are you ready for it?  I am not much of a dessert fan.  I enjoy a bite or two of a chocolate cake once in a while but honestly, I don’t regularly have cravings for chewy cookies or decadent cakes.  I do bake a lot, and even though anything I make would all be gone by the next morning, I would have played no role in their mysterious disappearance.

For the rest of my family members however, it’s a totally different story (which lead me to believe that I am a mutant).   My brother could eat chocolate cake for the rest of his life and my papa, though he denies it, hides a stash of chocolate in his office drawer so that none of us can have access to it.  For the readers out there who know my mother, you would agree with me that she is definitely the cutest little woman on planet Earth.  My mom has been in a constant love and hate relationship with me and my baking…. she is a strong woman who displays fierce determination when it comes to maintaining her waistline.  In the past. none of my sweet creations could break her, until….now.

As soon as these babies came out of the oven, my mom devoured 4 of them in one breath.  By the time I woke up the next morning, all of them were gone.  Mom told me later that day that she ate cookies for breakfast….all 10 of them.

I got this recipe from Garrett of Vanilla Garlic.  I modified the ingredients a tiny bit and out came these beautiful, irresistible creatures.  I hope you will like them as much as we did.  Happy Olympics everyone!

1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temp
1 cup dark brown sugar (I used light, still turned out great)
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 large egg
1 cup + 1tbsp maple syrup, preferably grade B
2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup chopped almonds

  1. Preheat the oven to 350F.
  2. Cream the butter and sugar together at medium speed for three minutes or until light and fluffy.
  3. Add the vanilla extract and egg, mix.
  4. Add the maple syrup and mix until well incorporated.
  5. In a separate bowl sift together the flour, baking soda and salt. Slowly add the flour mixture to the butter mixture and mix until just incorporated.
  6. Cover cookie dough with plastic wrap and chill for thirty minutes.
  7. Drop spoonfuls of the cookie, about 1 inch balls, onto cookies sheets lined with parchment paper.  Top each cookie with some chopped almonds.
  8. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until lightly browned around the edges.
  9. Allow to cool on the cookie sheet for a minute or two before transferring to a wire rack to cool.
4 thoughts on “Maple Cookies

  1. Haha. I love your Mom. And your new Layout! You have been watching the Olympics I assume? Go Canada! I will Skype you Wednesday night.

    • Thanks Angeliiii! I will send you cookies in the mail promise. They just seem to always disappear before I can get a hold of them… But I will try! ;p

Leave a Reply

