Carrot cake

Here is your fact of the day:  Mr. K does not eat carrots.  In fact, he hates them,  He cannot even stand looking at them for a prolonged period of time…. He vomits in his brain every time he touches them.

Here is another fact of the day: I love carrots.  I LOVE LOVE LOVE them.  The thought of never eating carrots again makes me want to vomit in my brain.

So, how did the carrot hater end up coexisting with the carrot lover? No one knows.  I am sure such relationships are considered illegal in some countries in this world.

Anyways.  In the past 6 months, I have being brainstorming of all the possible ways I could incorporate carrots into our regular diet without Mr. K noticing….  I have tried soups, salads, sauces, covering carrots in chocolate….but none have worked.  That boy is as sharp as a razor.  he can spot carrots within a 50 mile radius….

But 2 weeks ago, I finally found my solution!  And the birds started to sing and the world was filled with hope once again.  Ok… maybe it wasn’t that dramatic, but it was awesome none the less.  I stumbled upon this carrot cake recipe while reading one of my favorite blogs, the Pioneer Woman.  And once I read it, I smacked my head, wondering how on earth have I not thought of carrot cake as a possible option?!?!  Anything rolled around in butter and topped off with cream cheese can be good, including carrots.  Paula Dean would be proud of me for sayin that, y’all.

Anyways, the cake turned out to be a success.  Mr. K inhaled it, and then asked for more the next day.  The recipe can be found here along with some step by step pictures.  Do yourself a favor and go make this cake.  It is honestly one of the best cakes I have ever made and it was so easy to put together.

As you can see from the picture, I didn’t make a sheet cake like Pioneer Woman.   I used mini loaf tins instead, and baked for about 25 minutes on 325F.  Also, I would like to point out that you do not need a mixer for this cake, just use what your mama gave you.  And by that I mean your hands.

Thank you Pioneer Woman, for showing Mr. K the light and saving our relationship.

Sincerely,

Annie Bananie

Leave a Reply

