Roasted Tomato Sauce with Olives

I have a friend.

Yes.  One friend.

His name is Jamie.  He lives in the beautiful British Columbia. And he is pretty awesome….

Except for the times he laughs at me and calls me fatty.

And except for the times he tries to get me to say Nanaimo.  Naaanaiiimo.

And except for the times he tells me that I eat too much butter chicken.

Let’s just get to the bottom of this right now…One can NEVER have too much butter chicken.

Man… I could use some butter chicken right about now.

I digress.

Anyways, Jamie and I have been friends for a long time now.  We talk on the phone pretty much every 2 weeks, where we basically make fun of each other the entire time.

It’s a love and hate relationship.

But out of everything I have learned about Jamie.  I know one thing’s for sure and that is his undying love for olives.

I am pretty sure if he had to choose between me or Olives… he would without a doubt choose olives.

Just like how I would choose KFC over him.

I made this pasta sauce the other night and it reminded me of Jamie.  Olives roasted with tomatoes, garlic and onions creates such a beautiful sauce, it boggles my mind to even think about it now.   Sometimes the best dishes come from the simplest ingredients.

Here is what you’ll need

12-15 small ripe tomatoes, sliced into quarters

1 small onion, peeled and chopped

1 head garlic, peeled and sliced

1/2 cup green olives, pitted and roughly chopped

1/2 tBsp dried thyme

1/3 cup olive oil

1/4 cup pine nuts

kosher salt and black pepper, to taste

  1. Preheat your oven to 325°
  2. Put tomatoes into a 9” by 13” baking dish. Add onions, garlic, olives, thyme, salt and pepper and cover with oil. Toss well and place in the oven to roast slowly for 1 hour or so
  3. The sauce is done when the tomatoes shrink and their juices are released
  4. Take a dry non-stick pan. Throw in the pine nuts and turn the heat to medium. Watch them carefully, as they will burn very quickly
  5. Shake the pan every 20 seconds or so and toss the pine nuts, the pine nuts are done when the are slightly browned.  Remove them from pan and toss with the tomatoes
  6. Serve with your favorite pasta, I prefer to use Gnocchi or Rigatoni
  7. Take a bite and do a little dance

This is my one of my favorite way to serve tomatoes.  Super easy to make and it tastes amazing.  The olives take this sauce to a new level and it’s a great vegetarian dish.  The reason I threw some pine nuts into the mix is because not only do they taste great, they also serve as a great source of proteins.

Anyways, what was I saying about Jamie?  Yes, he is fantastic, just like this dish.  He is pretty much over the top kind of amazing. Did that make sense?

Please excuse me as I go and get myself some much needed butter chicken.

Thank you for your understanding.

Recipe adapted from Chef Michael Smith.

Leave a Reply

