Butternut Squash Apple Soup

Butternut squash has always scared me for many reasons.

  • It’s bright orange.
  • Is it a fruit or a vegetable?
  • It grows on vines.
  • Chinese people don’t use butternut squash in their cooking. EVER.
  • If you use butternut squash when you’re cooking Chinese food…you should stop.

I’ve had butternut squash soup before, but have never cooked it. In fact, I have never picked up a butternut squash before last week. Butternut squash has never been on my grocery list.

I never gave butternut squash the attention that it deserves.

As I was making soups for my friend Jamie for the last few weeks, I decided that this was the perfect opportunity to give butternut squash a try.

So, the verdict.

Butternut squash is my new favorite fruit/vegetable/fruit….vegetable?

I don’t know what I have been doing in life before butternut squash came into it.

Butternut squash completes me.

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 medium yellow onion, chopped
1 rib of celery, chopped
1 carrot, chopped
2 Tbsp butter or vegetable oil
1 butternut squash, peeled, seeds removed, chopped*
1 tart green apple, peeled, cored, chopped*
3 cups chicken broth or vegetable broth if vegetarian
1 cup water
Pinches of nutmeg, cinnamon, cayenne, salt and pepper

*Squash to apple ratio should be 3:1

  1. Set a large saucepan over medium-high heat and heat the butter (or oil) for a minute.
  2. Add the onion, celery and carrot and sauté for 5 minutes,  turn the heat down if the vegetables begin to brown.
  3. Add squash, apple, broth and water. Bring to boil. Cover, turn the heat down to a simmer and cook for 30 minutes or until squash and carrots soften. Puree, and return to a clean pot.
  4. Add salt and spices to taste, and garnish with chives or parsley.
  5. Serve immediately.

Recipe from Elise at Simply Recipes.

Leave a Reply

