Brown Sugar Jalapeño Ribs

5 ingredients + 1 pot + 8 hours =  ridiculously delicious ribs

I have always steered away from making ribs at home, because it often involves a lot of prep work, and that takes up tons of time. Ribs also need to be cooked for a long time before they are tender, so even if I were to make my Oven Baked BBQ Ribs, it would only be possible on weekends because the baking time is more than 2.5 hours.

Just when my dream of having ribs for dinner on a weeknight was dying out, I discovered City Girl Chicago‘s recipe.

I say this in absolute seriousness: these ribs changed my life.

I throw these 5 ingredients in to my slow cooker in the morning, and by the time I get back home in the afternoon… dinner is ready, angels are singing and unicorns are jumping over rainbows. No lies.

The only catch to this recipe is that you need a slow cooker. I’m sure you can cook it in the oven on 250F for a few hours but I’ve never tried it. If you are not lucky enough to have a bestie who gave you a slow cooker for your birthday, then you need to make a few new friends. Or you can get yourself a slow cooker, ASAP.

Here’s what you’ll need:

2.5 to 4 lbs ribs (beef or pork)
1 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
1 cup soy sauce (use gluten free if needed)
1/2 cup water
5 whole jalapeno peppers

  1. In a slow cooker, put the ribs in the pot.
  2. In a separate bowl, mix together brown sugar, soy sauce and water until all the sugar is dissolved.
  3. Pour sauce over the ribs and throw in the whole jalapenos.
  4. Cover and cook on low for 8 hours, flipping once.  If you’re out of the house all day, flip them when you get home so the other side of the ribs gets saturated.
  5. Serve with rice, pasta, quinoa and/or veggies.
  6. Watch unicorns jump over rainbows and be amazed.

Recipe adapted from City Girl Chicago.

4 thoughts on “Brown Sugar Jalapeño Ribs

  1. Pingback: Easy Slow-Cooker Jalapeño Brown Sugar Ribs & Jasmine Rice

  2. OMGosh, thank you so much for posting this recipe. This recipe changed our family’s life too. The hubby thought this made me a chef and then the link for City Girl Chicago disappeared! Gotta love Google and those of you who repost things. 🙂 Appreciate it! Now I have it and e-mailed it to myself, no more saving links to great recipes.

  3. Wow! I am glad you put the slow cooker to good use; those look delicious!! And I must say, looking back at your old post, you really have gotten good at taking food photos! Talk with you sometime this weekend.

Leave a Reply

