I’m back, with a bowl of French Onion Soup

I’ve taken a little big hiatus it seems! My apologies everyone, I left without a warning and… didn’t know when I’ll be back again (name that tune).

Life has taken me on a wild and awesome ride over the past 5 months. Every time I sat down to write a post, another crazy/amazing thing pulls me away and I end up with yet another incomplete draft sitting in my blog feed.

Here’s a 30 sec update on my life in the past 4 months:

  1. This happened, right here, with this incredible guy *happy dance*
  2. I started working with yet anther incredible company, picking up a big, amazing (but terrifying) role and have been happily working non-stop ever since.
  3. Because of #1, we’re planning a party here for 70 of our closest family & friends
  4. We bought a condo, in our favorite city, in our favorite neighbourhood
  5. I turned 25. Time to look for a walker.

Once again, my apologies for being MIA over the last few months. Thank you to those of you who have reached out to tell me that you’ve missed my blog posts and have encouraged me to post again, it means a lot to me. I will try my very best to update this blog on a more regular basis, I promise.

Now, back to food we go.

I should’ve made this soup a long time ago. I really should have.

I never really understood what the big deal is with French Onion Soup. People love it and it is a guaranteed menu item in every French bistro. After making this soup from scratch, I now 100% understand. A well made bowl of French Onion Soup is a steaming bowl of glory… it’s deliciousness cannot be ignored

Perfect for the fall, please find here the recipe I used to make the soup. Ingredients in the soup can easily be substituted for a vegetarian (ie. use margarine instead of butter, mushroom stock instead of beef, etc.)

And yes, I’m stilling obsessively following Smitten Kitchen.

More recipes and updates to come. Thank you for sticking with me.

xoxo,
-Annie

2 thoughts on “I’m back, with a bowl of French Onion Soup

Leave a Reply

